Speeding tickets are the most common traffic violation California drivers contend with. It is critical to be aware of the law to know what you will deal with if issued a California highway patrol speeding ticket and how you can avoid them entirely.
Basic Speeding Laws
As a general guideline, you want to follow the speed limits posted for the road or freeway you are on. Some freeways will have a speed limit of 70 mph while others have 65 mph. You want to be particularly careful around school zones and residential districts, which only have a speed limit of 25 mph, and you could get caught off-guard if you suddenly have to go from 45 to 25 mph.
There are base fine for speeding. For example, speeding between one and 15 mph over the speed limit has a base fine of $35. However, if the cops also arrest you for reckless driving, which will be at the discretion of the arresting officer, then you may need to pay an additional fine for the extra charge. For a first offense for someone traveling over 100 mph, the driver will face 30 days with a suspended license and a base fine of $500.
Tips for Avoiding Speeding Tickets
In addition to following the posted speed limits, you should maintain a low profile at all times. Stay in the slow lane on the freeway if other cars seem to be passing you consistently. Additionally, if an officer pulls you over, then you want to avoid saying you sped. Some cops will begin the conversation by asking, “Do you know why I pulled you over?” If you admit you were speeding, then that will be harder to fight in court.
A speeding ticket can lead to higher insurance premiums and points on your record. Contact a traffic lawyer from Ticket Clinic at 1-800-248-2846 represent you in court to help you fight your case.